Eleven Madison Park

Well my lovelies, the day had come…after months and months of waiting….it was finally here.  THE day…my BIRTHDAY…my 31st.  Though I’ve been told that I can play anything from 21-30.   Heheheh 😀

After a fabulous meal at Gramercy Tavern, I was PUMPED to head back to Eleven…Madison..Park!  Yes, the recipient of this year’s James Beard Award for Outstanding restaurant – that one!

Though to be truthful, Brian and I were nervous to go back after the menu layout had changed.  I mean, wouldn’t you be?  The thought of having the entire menu be revamped was mind boggling.  Why…how could they mess with perfection?  …and dare I find out?  Fortunately for us, our friend Mike was able to book a nice quiet table for us to re-live the experience and judge for ourselves.  The anticipation was killing me..

But before I get into the nitty gritty…can I just take a moment to gush about the morning leading up to it?  Well, it’s not like you have a choice here… 🙂 It began with a warm helping of steel cut oats, mimosas and an adorable hubby singing & dancing to the tune of The Beatles “Birthday“.  A Harnett family tradition.  🙂 Not only that, but I was getting calls, emails, facebook & tweet messages from friends and family from all over wishing me a Happy Birthday – what more could a girl ask for right?  I know that it happens every year, but in that moment, you truly feel that you’re the luckiest person on the face of the planet.

As part of my typical  birthday ritual, I like to get pampered & prettied up before the big night.  I started out with a trip to my favorite hairstylist, Joe.  Not only did he work his magic on my “do”, but he also threw me a mini birthday party filled with flowers & cake.  What? I know right? Boy, did this gal feel loved!

After said “do” got “did”, I headed to MAC to get my makeup done.  There to give me a Kim Kardashian inspired make over was Next Magazine’s Mr. Hottie East Village Shane!  Sorry guys, he’s taken!  By me!  Hehehe – I kid, I kid. No really, he’s taken.

Anyhoo… I was finally primed and prepped for what surely was a truly unforgettable meal….I ran home, tossed on my special birthday dress & the Bianca’s gifted to me by my wonderful husband and off we went.

For 5 straight hours, we were treated to a pleasure filled culinary adventure complete with surprises.  Allow me to elaborate…

As we were seated, my eyes were quickly drawn to the meticulously handwritten envelope at the end of the table addressed to little ole’  me.  What was it?  Hmmm….

A beautifully written card filled with warm birthday wishes.  Awwww  they do love me. I was smiling from ear to ear. 🙂

Some warm, fluffy gruyères were presented to whet our appetites.  The aroma was intoxicating.

The series of canapés began with a chilled pea soup topped with buttermilk snow & mint crisp.  Beautifully presented, of course.  It was impeccable.  The mint crisp was delicate and buttery.  The pea soup was mildly sweet.  The buttermilk snow was an explosion of wonderous, creamy, tangy euphoria.  It was magical.

The deadly duo followed…

A ceviche of fluke dressed in a tangerine vinaigrette.

…and the scallop with basil in a meyer lemon gelee.  Wow!  The fluke was refreshing, and the scallop was just a complete surprise.  Imagine if you will a jello shot…but with scallop and tangerine.   How clever!  Both were flawless.

The goat cheese beet lollipop followed. They were so much fun, yet so flavorful and delicious at the same time!

They were served alongside accompanying goat cheese croquettes with watercress vinaigrette.  The croquettes themselves were light & fluffy.   They were seriously the ultimate tater tot…Hey Napoleon, give me some of your tots!

Here I am wearing the napkin as a little hat.

Next up was one of my personal favorites, the sea urchin cappuccino with crab and apple.  I can’t even begin to describe how extraordinary this was.  The bisque was beautifully silky..creamy..and just outrageous.  It was one of those dishes that you wish you could devour even the vessel as not to waste a single drop….it was that good.

Fingerling potatoes topped with caviar and creme fraiche followed.  It was a mélange of textures and briney pearls.

Accompanying it was our favorite canape of the evening…smoked sturgeon sabayon with chive.  I bow to you Daniel Humm…I’m not worthy….I’m not worthy…  This, dear friends was mind blowing.  I’m serious…my mind was blown.  Peeeww, kapow boom…blown!

Then it was time for bread service…oh, how I love thee bread service.  Warm, airy, croissants shaped like little boobies peeking out of the napkins.  Fun to look at…even more fun to eat with a nice slab of salted butter.

Our first course was the lettuce salad with almonds, mangalitsa ham and cucumber.  It was seriously unlike any salad I had ever tasted before — so simple in presentation, but so complex and satisfying.

The sweetest, most perfectly seared scallop followed.  It was served with delicious Maine shrimp, smoked potato puree & garlic.  I didn’t think a more perfect scallop was possible.  It was beautifully cooked.   Light and translucent surrounding the core, with a pale center.  I enjoyed every single bite.

Restaurants have been having a field day with poached eggs, sous vide eggs, fried eggs…you name it, as of late.  Eleven Madison Park was no exception.  I for one, am all for it.  Give me that egg!  Their rendition of the perfect egg was just that…perfect.  The runny yolk, luscious whites and vin jaune created a glorious coating for the asparagus and morel mushrooms.

We had mentioned to our waiter that we missed the inclusion of pork in the gourmand tasting the last time we had visited.  He promised that we would not be disappointed this time.  You know what?  He was right!  We were certainly not disappointed.  It was delicious & well executed.  The skin was thick, yet crispy.  The roasted pork was pillowy and delectable.  Cherries, onions and guanciale served as the dressing for it.  This little piggie was loving it.

Our final savory was the grilled beef tenderloin with summer beans, savory and violet mustard.  The dressing was poured tableside so we got to see and smell the heavenly aroma of the jus as it was delicately poured on the perfectly prepared beef.

We saw this little goodie be served tableside throughout the evening.  Though totally being coy about it, our server told us that we’d have to wait until the end of the meal to have it.  It was a little surprise that Chef had put on the menu a few months ago.  Ladies and gents, I present to you the  Daniel Humm tableside egg cream.  A Brooklyn classic.  You will be surprised to know that it contains neither egg nor cream.

Rather instead, it was a delightful combination of vanilla, malt syrup and olive oil is whisked together and topped with soda.  You only have a few seconds to down it before the rich frothy foam subsides – so  down it went!  I was such a happy little camper.  Being the loving husband that he is, Brian gave me the rest of his so that I could enjoy it twice as much.

Topped with the sweetest little birthday candle was a thin tuille like chocolate cannelloni with espresso, caramel and yogurt.  Superb.

Just as we were basking in the warm glow of the candle’s warming glow…Megan, the GM stopped by to wish me a Happy Birthday!  What a lovely sentiment!  She asked us to follow her into the kitchen for a surprise.

A surprise??  For me?  Oooh squealllllll!!!

We followed her into the kitchen as giddy as school girls.  We were given a tour the last time we were there as well, but this time was slightly different. Just how different?

Well this time, they had a little table set up for us in the center of the room.  On the table were 2 spoons.  I was beyond speechless.  My heart was racing so fast that I couldn’t utter a sound.  And when I did, it was a vomit of praise and excitement.

Megan had introduced us to the pastry chef, Becky who masterfully whipped up an edible Aperol nitro cocktail for us.  Wow!  I’m not even going to attempt to explain what or how she did it, so I’ll just let the photos speak for themselves.  It was beyond amazing!  Though truth be told, I was so happy to be there that I just scarfed down what was placed in front of me.

Bottoms up!

What made my night was when the sous, Chef James came up to chit chat with us.  I felt like the luckiest girl in the world!  Here I am with Chef & Megan.  Hi guys!

As we were heading out of the kitchen, Megan said that she had one last surprise for us.  She lead us through the side doors, past the bar, and into a little area off to the right of the main dining room called the Flatiron Lounge.  She told us that they usually reserved a seat there for VIP’s or special guests, and that we were amongst them.  Squeal.  Yay!  How fun.

There to greet us were a cornucopia of mignardises including fresh macarons, pâtes de fruits, chocolates and delicious little marshmallow clouds.

Also there was a sweet little package filled with an ooey, gooey, nutty chocolate bar with the words “Happy Birthday” hidden in a compartment as you slid it open.  So cute!

Uh oh…and of course, just like last year…we were left with a bottle of smooth cognac to polish off.  Holler!

As one last surprise & parting gift, we were given the most incredible jar of homemade granola which we gleefully ate with nonfat greek yogurt for the next couple of days.  Like it made a difference right?  Haha.

Just when I thought that the evening couldn’t get any better…in walked in my favorite Top Chef Masters Cheftestant…. Hubert Keller! Swoon. Apparently he’s a regular there.

I know that I say this every year…but this was SERIOUSLY the best birthday ever.  Not only did I get celebrate it in the greatest city in the world, BUT it just kept going…

Next up, Maialino….

Eleven Madison Park
11 Madison Ave
New York, NY 10010

Leave a comment